Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Cobble Street Cousins

The Cobble Street Cousins is a six book series by one of my favorite authors Cynthia Rylant. These are early chapter books but are easily enjoyable by children who are past the early chapter book phase.

The Cobble Street Cousins are three nine-year old girls who spend a year in their Aunt Lucy's attic because their parents are ballet dancers on a world tour for a year. All three girls have different interests and personalities. Tess is a natural performer and dreams of being on Broadway. Rosie is quiet and likes to spend quality time at home. Lily wants to be a writer when she grows up.

One of the first things I noticed about this series is that it features three young girls and it IS NOT about them fighting or scheming like so many other chapter books out there for little girls. It is exactly what I think of when I think of appropriate material for young girls to be reading about. Typically the girls are "planning" something like baking cookies for people, throwing a party, learning to sew, and writing a newspaper called The Cobble Street Courier.

Here are the titles in sequential order:

In Aunt Lucy's Kitchen
A Little Shopping
Special Gifts
Some Good News
Summer Party
Wedding Flowers

No comments: